Quantum God

The other day a very strange imagination caught me. I do often think of God. In many ways I am trying to imagine him. The sceptic might ask ‘so you’re imagining him up?’. No, God needs to be imagined as we imagine our loved ones when they are not physically present with us.

So the strange imagination. I imagined God as some’thing’ simple. I use the word thing as an abstraction. I imagined God at a sub-atomic level being three particles. In what these are and how they interact with each other, God is. From this God overflows out into creation. Yet there none like this. Or I should say thise to merge the singular and plural. There is nothing or none like thise. In this simple beingness God is most primal.

I had always imagined God to stand outside of creation and create it. Like a ball which God holds. Now I imagine God creating outside himself. The particles and the energy flow from God to create the origin of universe. Since God in my imagination now is smaller than the smallest imagined particle, he flows through all, guiding, pleading, ordering, cajoling, scolding creation, giving it the fullness of himself, love.

2 thoughts on “Quantum God”

  1. What you say is interesting, but (a) the analogy of the three particles doesn’t convince me (to account for God adequately, you’d need to explain more clearly how difference of personhood and unity of substance hold), and (b) it comes very close to emanationism, where creation just ‘happens’ from God with no actual divine decision to create. In many respects, it sounds that you’re thinking along the lines of process theology or panentheism.

Leave a Reply

